A Tobacco Control Policy & Legal Resource Center
Supporting Smokefree Air & Tobacco-Free Lives

Hawaii first state in the nation to ban sale of all tobacco products to persons under age 21

Posted on

On December 19, 2013 Hawaii County’s Mayor Billy Kenoi signed into law a bill that bans the sale of all tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices, to persons under age 21. The law takes effect on July 1, 2014.

Hawaii County is the first in the state to ban the sale of tobacco products and e-cigarettes to people under the age of 21. Retailers caught selling to anyone under 2 can be fined $500 for the first offense and up to $2,000 for every offense after that. Currently, customers can buy tobacco products once they turn 18.

Read more information on our age of sale webpage.